Cranberry students recognized for their performance in winter sports

A number of students received recognition for winter sports at the Cranberry School Board meeting Monday.

Students and parents met with board members at the meeting at Cranberry Elementary.

Assistant high school principal Elizabeth Daugherty read the list of names as students took turns shaking hands with school board members.

Daugherty commended the students for their achievements.

“Great job, all of you,” she said.

Students receiving recognition in winter sports include:

In competitive spirit, the District 9 champions Medium Division, PIAA state qualifiers were Sarah Barcinas, Caylee Beshaw, Chloe Burris, Rebecca Chittester, Hannah Dean, Kaitlyn Hanna, Ashley Harkless, Amber Jubeck, Melissa Kratzer, Mikayla McFarland, Alexia O’Neil, Madisyn Piercy, Lauren Rembold, Sarah Rembold, Tyra Rice, Adison Roberts, Alexsis Shreffler, Jalyn Taft and Cheyenne Trauterman.

Coaches Corey Ritchey, Ruthann Stephens and Chelsea Lee were also commended.

In wrestling, Joshua Hancock took third place in District IX at 132 pounds and was a Northwest Region qualifier.

Paul Zacherl was the District IX champion at 160 pounds and was a Northwest Region runner-up, as well as a PIAA state qualifier.

In basketball, Evan Lutz was named second team KSAC All-Conference, while his teammate Brendan Zerbe was named third team KSAC All-Conference.

Four students were District X qualifiers in swimming.

They include Tifany Berry, Abigail Cowles, Britney Shreffler and Jayne Wolbert.