Oil Valley Film Festival winners announced

From staff reports

The 2022 Oil Valley Film Festival was held Sept. 9-11 in Oil City and featured 23 films.

Participants in the seventh annual festival represented nine countries. The festival was comprised of competitive sections for American and international narrative and documentary films, both feature-length and short.

It was held at the Oil City Library and the National Transit Building in downtown Oil City.

The festival was presented by and in partnership with Robot Blonde, InkTip, HomeLight, the George A. Romero Foundation, Virtual Pitch Fest, Entertainment Oxygen, the Oil City Library and the Oil City Civic Center.

Support also was provided by Arts Oil City and the Oil City Main Street Program.

The following is a list of the winners from the festival:

Best Picture, Feature — Narrative or Documentary — “Beyond the Lake,” directed by Domenic Porcari

Best Picture, Short — Narrative or Documentary — “Heavy Petting,” directed by Brendan Prost

Best Director, Feature — Narrative — Domenic Porcari with “Beyond the Lake”

Best Director, Short — Narrative — Max Kane with “House of Brotherly Love”

Best Director, Documentary — Short or Feature — Iiris Harma with “Shepherds of the Earth”

Outstanding Achievement in Lead Acting — Feature — David Socolar in “Beyond the Lake”

Outstanding Achievement in Lead Acting — Short — Allison Tolman in “Return to Sender”

Outstanding Achievement in Supporting Acting — Feature — Cloris Leachman in “Not to Forget”

Outstanding Achievement in Supporting Acting — Short — Brooke Gardner in “House of Brotherly Love”

Special Jury Prize in Acting — Rainey Qualley in “Delilah”

Special Jury Prize in Voice Acting — Stephen Fry in “It’s Always Something”

Outstanding Cinematography, Feature — Narrative or Documentary — Visa Koiso-Kanttila with “Shepherds of the Earth”

Outstanding Cinematography, Short — Narrative or Documentary — Bryan Perido with “It’s Always Something”

Best Editing, Feature — Narrative or Documentary — Eric Randolph with “Match Struck”

Best Editing, Short — Narrative or Documentary — Ben Simon with “Aping Edwin Porter”

Outstanding Screenwriting, Feature — Angelise Milton with “Aren’t You the Family?”

Outstanding Screenwriting, Short — Diana Foronda with “Candybyte”

Outstanding Screenwriting, Hour-Long Pilot — Dean C. Cummings with “Canajoharie”


For more local news, visit TheDerrick.com.