Chronological timeline of the ‘Star Wars’ cinematic universe

This image released by Disney shows a scene from the upcoming film, "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story." The world got a glimpse of “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” in teaser trailer that debuted Thursday, April 7, 2016 on Good Morning America that introduces the rag tag rebels who unite to steal the plans for the Death Star, including “The Theory of Everything’s” Felicity Jones. The film directed by Gareth Edwards also stars Diego Luna, Forest Whitaker and Ben Mendelsohn. (Disney via AP)

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Everyone knows “Star Wars” is set a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, but with the Thursday release of the trailer for the latest installment, “Rogue One: A Star Wars Story” which comes out in December and is set before the events of “A New Hope,” it’s understandable if the chronology is getting a little jumbled.

Here’s a quick timeline of all the theatrical releases, with release dates, to help keep the “Star Wars” timeline straight.

“Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace,” released May 19, 1999.

“Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones,” released May 16, 2002.

“Star Wars: Episode III — Revenge of the Sith,” released May 19, 2005.

“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story,” scheduled for December 16, 2016.

“Star Wars: Episode IV — A New Hope,” released May 25, 1977.

“Star Wars: Episode V — The Empire Strikes Back,” released May 21, 1980.

“Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi,” released May 25, 1983.

“Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens,” released December 18, 2015.

“Star Wars: Episode VIII,” scheduled for December 15, 2017.

“Star Wars: Episode IX,” scheduled for 2019.

Note: With the addition of “Rogue One,” it’s not yet clear where the other two anthology films will be set specifically. The Han Solo film will, like “Rogue One” take place before the events of “A New Hope.”

Untitled Han Solo Anthology Film, scheduled for May 25, 2018.

Untitled Anthology Film, unscheduled.