Cranberry board honors academic, athletic standouts

The Cranberry Area School Board recognized a number of students for academic and athletic excellence during its board meeting on Monday.

“Our kids, our coaches, our teams are doing great things,” said Ritt Smith, high school principal, in presenting honor certificates at the meeting.

The awards were focused on fall standouts.


Jenna Seigworth: outstanding senior delegate/$500 scholarship, Pennsylvania High School United Nations Conference

Boys cross country

Conor Marterella: KSAC champions/District IX/Class A champions, state qualifiers

Christian Miller, Daniel Fisher, Joseph Fox, Matthew Woolcock: KSAC champions/District IX Class A champions, state qualifiers, KSAC all-conference first team; Avery Keenan, Logan Johnson, River Perry: second team


Austin Collins, Brandon English, Dane Ley, Dorian Allman, Joseph Stahlman, Travis Carbaugh, Cameron Russell, Trevor Schiffer, Zachary Kiefer: District 10 football repeat champions

Cameron Russell: Region 7 first team all-purpose offense

Girls cross country

Alexa Boley, Gwendolyn Earp, Lauren Johnson, Morgan Stover: district and state qualifiers

Ashlyn Shultz, Ellabay Perry: district and state qualifiers, KSAC all-conference first team

Chelsea McKissick: district and state qualifiers, KSAC all-conference second team

Kalynne Ziegler: district and state qualifiers, KSAC MVP


Dakota Woolcock: KSAC all-conference third team


Madison Cornelius: District 9 all-district second team

Ava Ferringer: District 9 all-district second team, KSAC all-conference first team

Emily Duncan: KSAC all-conference second team

Abigail Hanna: KSAC all-conference third team