Oil City School District swears in board members

At its reorganization meeting on Monday evening, the Oil City School Board swore in six board members — two newly elected and four incumbents — and announced a vacancy due to the death of another board member.

New members Leigh Ann Pikna and Lawrence Sterner, and re-elected members Tyler Johnson, Mark Kerr, Joe McFadden, and Fred Weaver were all sworn in.

McFadden was appointed president and Weaver was appointed vice president. Both votes were unanimous.

Pikna is a speech pathologist who works at Oil City Healthcare and Rehab, and teaches in the communication department of Clarion University. Sterner is a retired truck driver.

Superintendent Lynda Weller announced due to the recent death of Jim Disque, the district will be accepting applications to fill the vacancy on the board.

A meeting of the board will be held next Monday to interview applicants for the position and choose a new member who will be sworn in that evening.

Disque was first elected to the school board in 2015 and re-elected in 2019. He passed away Friday.

In other news

Shari Neely was appointed as representative to the Venango Technology Center board of directors. Her term expires Dec. 31, 2025.

Johnson was appointed as the board’s representative to the Riverview Intermediate Unit 6 board of directors. That term expires June 30, 2024.

Business manager Susan Fisher and Weller were appointed as delegates and first alternate to the Venango County Tax Collection Committee.

The board approved the purchase of a new kindergarten through fifth-grade science curriculum, “Inspire Science,” from McGraw-Hill School Education at a cost of $99,460.35.

Weller noted the curriculum the district currently has was purchased in the late 1990s and the board approved a science curriculum in the same set for grades six through eight last year.

Eleven Oil City students who attend Vo-Tech were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society: Draven Chapel, Micheal Crocker, Breanna Hartsell, Kaylyn Klinger, Antonio Ruby, Emma Stahl, Breanna Terwilliger, Richard Ware, Kelly Weilacher, Brittin Winters and Haily Wood.

Weller announced the middle school Christmas concert will be held Dec. 21 at 7 p.m. and the high school Christmas concert will be held Dec. 22 at 7:30 p.m.