Taste of Talent competitors announced

From staff reports

The Franklin Fine Arts Council has announced the 12 vocalists who will compete in this year’s Taste of Talent singing competition.

This year’s contestants will be Mathew Myers of Oil City, Lauren Clarke George of Lucinda, Jessica Gahr of Utica, Iris Callahan of Vowinckel, Tim Craver of Franklin, Tabatha Pelletier of Enola, Ruth Herrick of Greenville, Lexie Gilson of Mifflintown, Alexander Karg of Pittsburgh, Alexis Jack of Franklin, Lindsey Crabtree of Oil City and Jacob Kunselman of Ridgway.

Each summer, the popular competition draws thousands of spectators to vote for their favorite contestants and enjoy a series of free concerts in Bandstand Park.

The concert series will kick off at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 28, during Franklin’s Fourth of July festivities week, which is actually 11 days this year.

The competition will continue on each Wednesday through July 26, with contestants being eliminated by audience vote each week.

Semifinals will be held at 7 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 5, and the competition finale will start at 4 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 6.

The winner of the competition will receive a prize of $1,000 sponsored by Franklin-Oil Region Credit Union.

Prizes valued at $200 ($100 cash and a $100 gift certificate) will be awarded to the other three semi-finalists through the sponsorship by Jake and Nancy Lindsey and the Franklin Retail and Business Association.

Other sponsors who help defray the costs of production include Kendzior Orthodontics and Garrett Kline Photography.

People can follow along with this year’s competition by searching or posting on social media with the hashtags of #TasteofTalent and #TasteofTalent23.

More information about events in Franklin may be found at www.franklinpa.gov, or on Facebook at FranklinPAEvents.