26 Franklin juniors inducted into National Honor Society

Franklin High School principal Gary Canfora speaks at the school's National Honor Society induction ceremony. Also shown are seniors Damon Lewis, Michaela Bell, Haley Karns, Amy Mook and Savanna Carr. (Submitted photo)
From staff reports

Twenty-six juniors from Franklin High School were inducted into the school’s National Honor Society at a ceremony held Wednesday.

Members were selected by the faculty council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Students who were inducted include Quincy Adams, Harmony Banfi, Zane Baughman, Abigail Brockett, Madeline Bush, Hayley Byers, Emmalie Dickey, Morgan Eiler, Lauren Greenlee, Alexandra Herdle, Brian Jiang, Emily Jones, Emily Luther, Zachary Lyons, Drew Martin, Richard Phipps, Riaran Rios, Sophia Santee, Nicholas Shiner, Emily Steigerwald, Adam Taylor, Bobbie Uber, Megan Weaver, Tyler Weiss, Shaela Whiting and Trevor Wood.

This year marked the 70th anniversary of the FHS chapter and congratulatory remarks were offered by Sabrina Backer, member of the school district’s board of directors; Pamela Dye, district superintendent; Gary Canfora, high school principal; and Maureen Hager, National Honor Society adviser.

A reception was held after the induction ceremony in the Franklin Middle School cafeteria. Musical selections were performed by the school’s Jazz Band and the Franklin High School Madrigal singers.